April 17, 2011

  • Food post + update

    Blueberry cheesecake.

    I made this about a month ago for my dad's bday.

    I was kinda craving tacos like the ones from my high school cafeteria.  Not only were those tacos inauthentic, they were also... well, cafeteria food.  I was hungry and short on time back then, so to me they weren't bad.  Don't worry, I'm always ready for some carne asada and ice cold Coke ;)

    Ingredients list: banana, blueberry, strawberry, blackberry, bit of kiwi, soymilk, orange juice

     


     

    Highlights

    -My dad and I spent his birthday in "emergency mode," filling up sandbags (in the rain!) to help a neighbor whose backyard was flooding.  The streets were so flooded where we lived that if it had kept up through the night we would've had to row boats to get to work.

    -I pre-ordered a CD for the first time: Kina Grannis' Stairwells.  I would describe her by saying, "she inspires you to be more than your feelings of inadequacy."  Whether you get that or it even makes sense, it's okay :)

    -My mom was recently diagnosed with osteoarthritis of the neck and radiculopathy (pinched nerve) that gives her pain and numbness mostly in her back shoulder area and left arm.  It is treated with medication and physical therapy.  Her medication has been giving her limited relief, but the PT appt. is coming up on Tuesday.  Here's to hoping for a full and speedy recovery heart

    -My parents have decided to stay in California. =)

Comments (6)

  • yay for your parents staying in California! Your food looks good. Did you parents eat the tacos with you? My parents don't really eat my cooking. -_-

  • @five_twenty - yea... it's probably so it doesn't go to waste, haha

  • you were gonna move???

    Hmm... I wonder why your mom has osteoarthritis in the neck. I usually hear about it in the limbs... at least it's not rheumatoid arthritis!

    and OMGOSH! your food look soooo good! I wanna eat all of them right now!... I wait for the day when food can be passed through media :D

  • @pandaxiong - sort of, my parents might have moved out of state and i would have had to move out.  she's taking vicodin currently and has to do neck traction in a week O.o  hahah thanks!!  that would be interesting ;P

  • @simpLyxme - ooo i see, so u woulda stayed in CA, or u mean move out of state too?... eek, that don't sound very good at all... hope the therapy helps tho!... hahaha i remember hearing somewhere how if that were to happen, wives wouldn't have their "job" anymore cause husbands would be getting their food from martha stewart or something hahaha

  • @pandaxiong - haha i'd prob. stay in CA...

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment