November 19, 2011

  • One of my favorite math teachers passed away on 11/1/11.  I can count on one hand the teachers I found truly inspirational in high school and he is one of them.  He wrote a college recommendation letter for me.  His advice at the conclusion of a semester's class was, "I hope you find a career you love as much as I love teaching math."

    He wasn't always warm and fuzzy.  I remember how stern he was, how he went row by row to check homework every single day, how he would randomly call on students to answer his questions.  Sometimes he would ask, "What is wrong with the answer?" after a student had raised his/her hand to answer the question.  No one would speak up.  Then he would sigh, pick up the chalk, and proceed to work through the problem.. and get the same exact answer as the student.  "There's nothing wrong with the answer!"

    I didn't know Mr. Geller's "other" life, that of not being a teacher.  It's only after I graduated did I learn he was an avid bicyclist and enjoyed fine cooking.  It's no wonder he dressed up as Chez Geller for Halloween.  Mr. Geller not only taught math, but he was genuinely interested in his students' understanding: he held afterschool tutoring sessions before every exam.  Even though I was doing well in his class (but this did not come easily), I attended nearly every single one.  His tutoring sessions worked so well for me.  He gave you problems on the front chalkboard and wrote answers on the back chalkboard, allowing you to work at your own pace and ask questions.  Come and leave when you want, and there will be nothing on the test that was not covered in class or in homework.

    That was the thing about Mr. Geller -- he was fair.  He gave you his attendance and homework policy and stuck by his word.  His grading system was mathematical.  He believed in returning tests the day after they were taken.  Once, he made a mistake grading my test, giving me three extra points.  When I approached him after class and told him, he got a surprised look and said, "Wow!  An honest person!  You can have the three points."

    Richard Geller was serious when he said he was against cheating.  Pressure at my high school was, and still is, intense.  Unlike some teachers who threaten academic sanctions, he was frank.  I still remember when he said, "Do you want a doctor who cheated through medical school?"

    Sure, he had the reputation of being the scariest teacher on the fourth floor, and had unconventional methods of waking up sleeping students, but he was also kind with a sense of humor.  And a passion for teaching math.  Even if he did yell sometimes.

    A few months ago, he was invited to be the Faculty Speaker at this year's graduation.

    R.I.P., Mr. Geller.

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment