December 31, 2012

  • Happy Thoughts (repost)

    Our Sparkletts man is named Mo. He left us a Christmas card.

    I met him yesterday. He said his Christmas was very good, didn’t do much, spent it with his wife and kids, and asked us about ours.

    He said, “As long as happy, healthy” and flashed us a big smile. One of those genuine ones.

    His wife is a lucky woman.

    “I’ll go downstairs and get two containers.”

    ~*~

    I saw the dog first. A beautiful petite English cocker spaniel who gazed with soft brown eyes.

    Her leash was held by an older man.

    If I had to guess, I’d say there was a resemblance there.

    The dog padded over to a woman holding a toddler in her arms. “Look at the dog,” she said as she pointed, her eyes on the child, whose eyes were on the dog.

    The child took a few stumbling steps.

    Dog and child met… with an unexpected big, wet kiss.

    Everyone laughed.

    What a lovely dog. What a lovely world.

    ~*~

    It was 8:30.

    The supermarket did not have many customers.

    One lady pushed a shopping cart, in which there sat a smiling, plush, 3-foot tall

    Santa hat-wearing

    Penguin.

    They were for sale in Aisle 7.

    What a supermarket was doing selling plush penguins, I couldn’t say.

    She grinned sheepishly ’cause she caught me looking.

    Tomorrow, why I’ll be in the supermarket buying a plush penguin, I couldn’t say.

    I’ll be grinning ear to ear.

     

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *