June 16, 2013

  • Happy weblogging

    Now that Xanga is at risk of shutting down, it’s time for me to say a few words on what it has meant to me.

    Looking back, I completed many a long survey and a good amount of online quizzes. For example, I posted for the world to know which Jewel song I resembled, what flavor I was, and even my omniosity quotient (404 Page Not Found). Eprops, Xanga’s currency to show one’s appreciation for a post, weren’t taken for granted then. I once gave a blogger 0 eProps to express my ire with his post –that will show ‘em! Another intriguing concept were Blogrings. I selected those that would reflect my blogging habits.

    The Xanga community is one of the reasons TheXangaTeam hopes Xangans will support a WordPress relaunch, but it was just as important a sustaining factor then. I subscribed to people I knew in real life. We ranted about teachers we disliked, talked about characters in our favorite movies, and reminisced about our weekend hangouts.

    To me, Xanga was always a place to write things I might not say out loud. It invited people to get to know me through my written thoughts. I valued what others shared and wouldn’t have minded if it continued indefinitely.

    By the time I entered college, however, fewer and fewer people were updating. Luckily, I found others at college who did. I stopped public posting for 8 months at one point, but never stopped reading and commenting. Commenting was my way of cheering someone on or to respond to a particularly irresistible question.¹

    It’s been 4124 days since I joined Xanga. I suppose I could head over to Weebly, Blogger, or WordPress.

    But I miss the vintage smileys already.

    ¹ See TheTheologiansCafe

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *