September 15, 2012

  • Now this is a story all about how
    my life got flipped, turned upside down
    And I’d like to take a minute (or two) just sit right there
    I’ll tell you how a plant needs lots of care
     
    In 5 gallon containers born and raised
    inside the house is where it spent most of its days
    chillin out, maxin, relaxing all cool,
    and all shooting some leaves getting ready for school
    when a couple of gnats they were up to no good
    started making trouble in the neighborhood
    i got in over my head and my mom got scared
    and said that good for nothing plant moves out
    into the sunshine take it from there
     
     
    Okay, just kidding. I ended up planting it in the ground to save it. It was doing alright.
     
     
    Then the whiteflies came. By the DROVES.
     
     
    Just kidding, again. However, the damage they’re doing causes leaves to yellow and drop off every couple days. I googled and thought (but mostly googled) and decided neem oil would be most effective.
     
    Then found out the store didn’t stock the OMRI-certified product I wanted, nor did they ship the product to CA.
     
     
    An alternative was insecticidal soap, but pretty soon I was looking for a non-chemical option.
     
     
     
    Voilà!
     
    I have tubes of acrylic paint leftover from that one time I unleashed my artistic vision on some unsuspecting canvas, which I turned into a month-calendar. What’s that?
     
     
    Oh.
     
    A perfect shade of yellow to allure bugs.
    If you’re into that sort of thing.

     

Comments (7)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *